Friday, October 3, 2014

The Byrds – Original Byrds Live

The Byrds – Original Byrds Live

A collection of live tracks (concerts, TV and radio appearances) by the original five and the original four…

Jim McGuinn
Gene Clark
Dave Crosby
Mike Clarke
Chris Hillman

1. Mr Tambourine Man (2:11)
2. Bells Of Rhymney (3:26)
3. I'll Feel A Whole Lot Better (1:54)
4. Bells Of Rhymney (2:35)
5. The Times They Are A-Changin' (2:26)
6. Do You Believe In Magic (1:08)
7. Turn Turn Turn (3:40)
8. Bells Of Rhymney (3:38)
9. Interview (3:15)
10. Renaissance Fair (1:48)
11. Lady Friend (2:58)
12. Have You Seen Her Face (2:21)
13. Turn Turn Turn (4:09)
14. Bells Of Rhymney (2:22)
15. Milestones (0:40)
16. So You Want To Be A Rock 'N' Roll Star (2:01)
17. I Know My Rider (2:14)
18. Hall Of Fame 1991 Induction (4:58)
19. Byrds 1991 HOF Speeches (3:44)
20. Turn Turn Turn (3:42)

Artwork Included


Rocking--Byrd said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
david said...

thanks ! Interesting compilation. It's depressing to know there are people out there sitting on whole Original Byrds live shows who refuse to share them. This discussion has been covered here before, so I won't be redundant, but it's just when someone like yourself puts together a fine piece like this it reminds us of the possibilities that could exist.....Thanks for all your work keeping this great blog going.

Steve said...

Wow! This is a rare treat. Any information on just where these concerts took place? I've heard some of these, but not all. The original Byrds were maligned as a bad live band, given the fact that since no one could hear them above all the screams, they didn't need to rehearse. I don't know if that's entirely fair--there are some nice live tracks here, especially of Bells of Rhymney and Turn Turn Turn. The sound quality being what it was at the time, it's not really fair to compare the original Byrds with the later version, which was a much better live group (though not always) and had much better sound equipment. The playing is sloppier, true. Sometimes Mike Clarke sounds like he's trying to beat the drums to death, which Chris Hillman's bass does not come out so clearly--again, due to the sound system and the recording media. McGuinn is pretty good for the most part, while Crosby adds a chunky rhythm guitar to the mix. Not bad. Sometimes the songs sound too fast, such as Renaissance Fair and Have You Seen Her Face, but that may due to the recording media. As or the vocals, they're pretty good overall. It's interesting to hear the original group do TTT at their induction into the Hall of Fame--they're much older, and their voices sound quite different 20 some odd years after they first came out, yet they are still recognizable. All in all, a nice listen. There aren't many live recording of the original Byrds in concert, and it's nice to have a collection like this to give us an idea of what they were like as a live unit at a time when the quality of the performances was not so important. Later on, of course, live shows grew in quality and it was a whole new concert era. Thanks for this rare compilation.

dino said...

What more can I say?
Just a humble... T H A N K Y O U from the bottom of my.....hard disk!

Rocking--Byrd said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Rocking--Byrd said...

New link 2016-04-23