Monday, April 23, 2012

Roger McGuinn and Chris Hillman – The Roxy, Los Angeles 1980-08-18

Roger McGuinn and Chris Hillman – The Roxy, Los Angeles

August 18, 1980

Roger McGuinn (12 string guitar, vocals)
Chris Hillman (bass, vocals)
Jonny Sambataro (guitar, vocals)
Scott Kirkpatrick (drums, vocals)

Audience Recording

1. Sad Boy (4:31)
2. Giving Herself Away (3:58)
3. It Doesn't Matter (2:49)
4. Don't You Write Her Off (2:49)
5. Turn Turn Turn (3:14)
6. One More Chance (3:45)
7. Deeper In (2:33)
8. Chestnut Mare (5:10)
9. Let Me Down Easy (3:30)
10. Skate Date (2:41)
11. Mr Tambourine Man (2:25)
12. Surrender To Me (2:39)
13. City (4:47)
14. Mr Spaceman (2:33)
15. Jesus Is Just Alright (3:11)
16. Stopping Traffic (5:01)
17. Who Taught The Night (2:42)
18. So You Want To Be A Rock 'N' Roll Star (2:49)
19. I'll Feel A Whole Lot Better (2:35)
20. Eight Miles High (4:44)

Artwork Included


Rocking--Byrd said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Steve said...

The concerts of the various phases of MCH are for the most part more interesting than the recorded albums. This concert features most of the songs on City, without the two Gene Clark numbers and Hillman's Street Talk. City attempted to return in part to the Byrds' sound, which was missing on the first album. This is especially seen in the title song, with its jazzy, Coltrane-like solos and traditional harmonies. Hillman's songs are harder-edged than they were before, but I don't think they're particularly memorable. Nonetheless, these and all the other City songs are well-played and sung. Once again Roger McGuinn is out front, and his songs are strong (well, Skate Date...). It's a shame Gene Clark had by then dropped out. As for the Byrds songs, they sound good. It's still a little jarring hearing them do Jesus is Just Alright, which was so associated with the later Byrds. It works, surprisingly. All in all, an enjoyable recording--many thanks for providing it.

Rocking--Byrd said...

New link 2013-02-28