Monday, October 25, 2010

Chris Hillman & Friends - Live At The Cotati Cabaret 1983

Chris Hillman & Friends – Live At The Cotati Cabaret 1983

Cotati Cabaret, Cotati, Ca – May 5, 1983 (both sets)

Chris Hillman, Bernie Leadon, Al Perkins, Bill Bryson, Herb Pedersen

Soundboard Recording

Disc 1 (Set 1)

1. Shenandoah Valley Breakdown (1:07)
2. Tomorrow Is A Long Time (2:25)
3. Last Thing On My Mind (2:53)
4. You Don't Know My Mind (2:02)
5. Burrito Breakdown (2:17)
6. God Loves His Children (2:43)
7. Running The Roadblocks (2:03)
8. Desert Rose (2:32)
9. Love And Wealth (2:25)
10. The Christian Life (2:18)
11. Don't Let Your Sweet Love Die (2:05)
12. Why You Been Gone So Long (2:23)
13. Hollywood Is Making Me Blue (2:41)
14. How Mountain Girls Can Love (2:07)

Disc 2 (Set 2)

1. Children Are Crying (2:04)
2. Fallen Eagle (2:00)
3. Wheels (2:49)
4. Devil In Disguise (2:46)
5. You Don't Know My Mind (2:04)
6. Sin City (3:44)
7. Burrito Breakdown (2:11)
8. Love And Wealth (2:25)
9. Don't Let Your Sweet Love Die (2:09)
10. Instrumental (2:13)
11. God Loves His Children (2:50)
12. Instrumental (2:56)
13. Children Are crying (2:46)
14. Take Me In Your Lifeboat (2:40)
15. How Mountain Girls Can Love (2:06)
16. Desert Rose (2:27)

Artwork Included (front, back)

New Link 2016-09-20


Steve said...

I still can't download the Gene Clark concert, but this one was no problem. Weird. For those accustomed to Chris Hillman's harder rock stuff on the MCH/MH albums, especially the last one, this concert, a little over two years since McGuinn-Hillman Band went caput, seems a complete turnaround, even though I know he was originally a bluegrass musician. But take songs like Thoughts and Words, Have You Seen Her Face, and Natural Harmony, and later ones like Who Taught the Night, Deeper In or Soul Shoes, and it seems like another musician entirely. Gene Clark had done this kind of thing with Fantastic Expedition of Dillard and Clark, and much of this concert is in that vein. If you like bluegrass, this is probably your cup of tea. The harmonies are very tight, though too nasal at times for my tastes, and the instrumental work is excellent. My only problems with bluegrass are that its melodies are rather simple with simple chord progressions, and after awhile the songs sound very similar, even though I know they're not. The things Hillman was doing with the Byrds were more complex, more innovative than what he does here, but I guess this is his real love and who am I to criticize that? The sound quality is very good and the songs follow one right after the other, with all the talk cut out. A fine show for fans, and interesting for people like me who like bluegrass in small doses. Chris Hillman is a versatile musician and an unpretentious man--a real pro. Thanks for the listen, R-B.

Luiz Byrds said...

Thanks for another first-rate post. You're great, Rockingbyrd!